ERA – Week 4 of Production

This has been another tough week with much of the focus going towards trying to fix malfunctions and crashes in unity. Monday my entire game inexplicably crashed after I entered the game scene, we found no clue to the cause of this, and everything was working fine on the other ends of the project so what I ended up doing was removing the entire project, after making a backup, and then download it again from the asset server, manually copying and pasting the backed up code I had lost. The second problem arose when the plugin we use for handling GUI, Daikon Forge crashed Unity for me due to encountering corrupt files in our project folder. It took some while to locate them all and get someone with working copies of them all to refresh them on the asset server… I guess Unity just doesn’t like me very much. Setbacks like these get incredibly annoying when all you want is to be able to ever increase your productivity to reach the deadlines.

What I’ve been working with besides these issues is mainly the general network setup and GUI updates for all clients. I’ve also introduced death functionality for the champion players, tracking their HP and disabling them for a set respawn time while they are dead.

I’ve implemented specialized GUI that will be instantiated only on the owner-client of a champion that shows cooldowns of abilities and health and also darkens the entire screen and show a re spawn timer if the champion is dead. I’ve also created floating GUI health bars that will hover above all actors in the game. These are instantiated and updated on every client; and they will track the team tag of the actor they are attached to, so a player belonging to team red will see the health bars of all red actors as green, while all blue actors will have red health bars, and vice versa. In doing all this I’ve also had to make a substantial update to the soldiers implementation over the network, so that all their attributes, health etc. can be updated correctly all over the network once they are affected by spell effects.

About rasmusbjorling

I am a game designer, with lots of projects behind and ahead of me, learning new things every day.
Det här inlägget postades i Uncategorized och har märkts med etiketterna , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Lämna en kommentar